MH_06_02 GITA 02

பகவத் கீதை 02

Mahabharata – Bhishma Parva

(Gist of Bhagavad Gita)

Krishna continued.

“Arjuna, learn the complete knowledge from me. I am the reason for formation of worlds and their demise.  Just like beads are entwined in a thread, these worlds are entwined in me. I am the taste in water, brightness in sun and the moon, ‘Ohm’ in Vedas.

“I am different from all matter, they are born out of tri gunas, they are dependent on me, and I am not dependent on them. I am not realised by those who are covered by maya.

“One who dies thinking about me reaches me in the end. From Brahma to a small insect born and die several times. Those who reach me are never born again.

“Learn the greatest knowledge from me. Matter is established in me just like air spreads on open space.  At the end of this universe, all merge in me. I recreate the jeevas again as per their individual karma. This does not bind me, as i have no karma. They depend on the Prakruti (the original Matter from which the universe is born). I am the father and mother of this world. Only well learned realise that the Prakruti will end one day and spend their thoughts in me as i am indestructible. I am responsible for this world to run and face ultimate destruction. For those who always keep their mind in me without getting attracted by worldly pleasures, I take care of their wellness. So whatever you eat, enjoy and pray, surrender them to me. I take utmost pleasure even the leaves, water and flowers offered by my sincere devotees with Bakthi.

“Those who realise me as one without birth, who lives ever without destruction, and one who is the Easwara of the entire world (Purushothama), gets released from all maya surrounding him. Since I am the Anthayami (one who resides in every being) of all Jeevas, they are equal to me, then where is the question of differences among them. All should be treated equal without any animosity.”

அந்த நல்லறிவன்று என்னை அறிந்தவர் அறிஞராவார்

தந்தையால் வகுக்கப்பட்ட சராசரப்பொருள்கள் தோறும்

வந்தவான்றீம்பானெய்போல் உயிர்க்கு உயிராகி வாழும்

பந்தமதுணர்ந்து நேரேபார்க்குங்கால் பகையார்நண்பார்

(வில்லி பாரதம், வீட்டுமப்பருவம், 4)

Arjuna requested Krishna to tell about His greatness in full.

Krishna told, “There is no end to my greatness. I am the Atma of all beings and their beginning, middle and end. I am Vishnu, Shankara, Kubera and Skanda. I am the Pranava ‘Ohm’. Of all beings, i am the greatest of them individually. I am holding the entire Universe with my single sankalpa.”

Arjuna wanted to see the Universal form of the Lord. The Lord gave Arjuna the Godly vision as he cannot see the form with naked eye. Arjuna saw the entire universe, including Brahma, Siva and other beings embedded in the sacred body.

He is seen with lot of faces, lot of hands, lots of stomach and the brightness was unfathomable.  He was not able to see the beginning, middle and the end. He saw every Deva praying to him. He also saw beings coming out of his mouth for births and many beings going into his mouth on death. Arjuna was frightened to see this Virat Swaroopa, and pleaded him to see in his normal form. The Lord said “those in the battlefield have already been killed by me. You are only an instrument in my hand to conduct the destruction. So fight the battle without any hesitation”.

The Lord said, “Those who do their duties, work for the welfare of all, and surrender the benefits of their prescribed Karma avoiding karma just for local benefits and always thinking about me reach me without fail. I help them cross the ocean of samsar. They are very dear to me.”

Mahabharata Home

Previous Gita 01

Next Gita 03

3 comments

Leave a comment